Rochester bowls report

May 10, 2018

Judy White, Rochester club president Rose Kilpatrick, Eileen Pineo,Prill Edgar and Joe Murphy

Robert Taylor won the Goulburn Murray gift pack


PROBUS Club bowlers members from across the state gathered at the Rochester Bowling Club last week for a day of bowling, food and fun.

The Rochester Probus Club hosted the annual event and was pleased to see 120 people attend.

Probus Club secretary Thelma Walles said the event was a great way to get everyone together for some fun.

“These events are very popular and this one was no different,” she said.

“Everyone had a great time and enjoyed the wonderful spread of food.”


The final club championship competition was completed on Saturday.

Ken Main and Ray Hanson competed for the 21 Up Presidents trophy title with excellent greens and conditions favoring the bowlers.

In the early stages of the final, Main was in tremendous touch winning seven ends in a row to have Hanson struggling to stay in the contest.

Hanson with sheer determination and skill, gradually bridged the gap to level the scores at 17 all.

Both bowlers traded ends with the scoreline very close.

The final stanza resulted in a situation with scores level at 20 all.

On the last end Hanson was holding shot just centimetres from the jack, when Main delivered his final bowl to dislodge the shot bowl and win the title 21-20.

Both bowlers were applauded as they left the green after a thrilling and enthralling game of bowls.

Tom Davis marked the game in his usual efficent manner.

The game of Scrounge was played on Wednesday with a small field of six players.

Bowlers shared the spoils.

Scrounge will be played each Wednesday starting at 1.00pm.

All bowlers and new bowlers welcome to attend.

Cost is $3.00 per player and the duration of play is two hours (approximately).

On Sunday evening the club held the annual Presentation of awards.

Club President Tom Davis and Lady President Paulne Humbert welcomed a great number of members and guests including a couple from overseas.

Humbert then proceeded to announce and present the trophies.

Club Champion: Annette Brereton; Runner Up: Lorraine Appleby. 100 Up

Champion: Lorraine Appleby; R/up: Leanne McInnes. Alys Humbert Champion Pairs/Winners: Margaret Davis - Betty Mustey (s)R/up:

Lorraine Appleby - Phylis MacFarlane (s).

The weekly vouchers were presented to all of the winners during the season. Kath Palmer, MacFarlane and Joy Weller were prominent on several occaisions.

Tom Davis presented the awards for the Mens’ section. Club Champion:

Ray Hanson; R/up: Neil Haines. B Grade Champion: John Van Den Bosch;

R/up: Andrew Harris. 21 Up Presidents Trophy: Ken Main; R/up: Ray Hanson. 100 Up Champion: Don Isgro; R/up: Kalvin Stout.

Members and Guest enjoyed a fine meal presented by the Tongal based caterers.

During the evening Lady President Pauline Humbert announced a cheque for $12,000.00 woulde be presented to the club as a result from their fund-raising during the year - meals, special competitions and dinners etc.

Club President Tom Davis responded and thanked the women for all their hard work and effort in making the club a continuing success story as well as keeping us viable.

The Annual General Meeting will be held on Monday 4th June 2018 starting at 8.00pm. Nomination forms are available at the club.

More in Sport
Login Sign Up

Dummy text