Golf report

October 11, 2017


Campaspe Niners had a Kevin McCormack Day with Kevin winning the day (43-91/2-331/2).

He also had the straightest drive (ninth) and the least putts (13).

David Marshall (55-17-38) and Rod McAsey (54-16-38) battled for the runner-up position.

Rod McAsey won the count back.

Wednesday Ladies played a stroke round, with Shirley McAsey (58-17-41) taking the honours from Naida Belot (66-211/2-441/2).

NTP second shot on the first and the straightest drive on the third went to Naida and Shirley won the raffle.

The ladies are playing again tomorrow with all hands on deck.

Sunday the 15th is our Summer Opening and everyone is welcome to come for a mixed Yankee, any combo followed by a barbecue.

The whole day is free so come and join in and have a fun day. 12.30 pm for a 1pm hit off.


The 2017 season at Lockington concluded with four days of golf over the last week.

On Wednesday the ladies played a three-person ambrose drop off event.

The winners were Lois Chugg, Marg Eade and Pauline Humbert with a fine 43-21-22, two shots clear of runners-up Sue Harris, Bev Muhleisen and Phyll Macfarlane. Nearest the pin went to Pauline Humbert.

On Friday the Lockington Lions Club held its golf day, a fourball event which was generously supported by visitors from Rochester, Rich River, Mitiamo and Pyramid Hill.

Good scores were returned in the men’s event, with three pairs finishing on 48 points, a countback needed to determine the finishing order.

The winners were the Mitiamo team of Peter Meighan and Paul Condliffe.

The runners-up were the Pyramid Hill pair of Jim Hoban and Fred Schmidt, while the Rochester team of Tim Quinlan and Richard Feuk finished third.

Ball comp: 43 - Laurie Jackel (Rochester) and Don Muhleisen, Steve Holt and Jeff Carnie, James Hodgens and Graeme Hodgens; 42 - Rick Connors and Mark Lyons; 41 - Phil Stanford and Bruce Haines. Nearest the pins: third: Tim Quinlan; 17th: Jason Wakefield; nearest the line: Tim Quinlan.

Sherryl Jones and Sue Harris won the ladies event with a solid score of 38 points. Nearest the pins: 3rd Sherryl Jones; 17th Sue Harris; nearest the line: Sue Harris.

Saturday’s novelty event was an individual digits competition with an utterly unique point scoring format devised by Rick Connors, which proved to be a lot of fun and provoked a lot of discussion.

With a score of +50, Brett Stone was the winner, by just one point from Steve Holt on +49.

Golfers also kept their stableford scores, with Kevin Humbert victorious in A grade with 35 points, ahead of Steve Holt on 33. B grade honours went to Jeff Carnie with 34, from Ron Dixon on 32, while C grade was won by Will Hardess with 34, ahead of Bruce Haines on 32.

Nearest the pins: 17th: Jeff Carnie; second shot 9th: Brett Stone (A), Tom Scurrah (B), Will Hardess (C); second shot 18th for the six-pack smack: Brett Stone. Spike’s Longest Drive on the second, sponsored by Hot’n’Cold Plumbing: Brett Stone (A), Jeff Carnie (B), Will Hardess (C). Neither Captain Terry’s yardstick on the 16th, nor the Echuca CIH eagles nest on the third were won.

The 2017 season wound up with a four-person ambrose event on Sunday, generously sponsored by Daryl Squires Electrical, and it was terrific to have visitors from Bamawm, Belvoir Park and Calivil.

The day’s winners were Mark Lyons, Tom Scurrah, James Hodgens and Grant Humbert with 64-7-57 (and they also had the best scratch score as well).

In a close finish, the runners-up were Sue & Andrew Harris and Pauline and Kevin Humbert with 66-8.125-57.875.

Long drive 14th: Pauline Humbert, Shane Dyson (Bamawm); nearest the line 18th: Donna Burke (Belvoir Park), Shane Dyson; nearest the pins third: Sue Harris, Grant Humbert; seventh: Sue Harris, Shane Dyson; 17th: Kathy Connors, Andrew Harris.

Upcoming events: Saturday 14th October: Presentation Night; bring and share casserole tea, 7.30pm special members draw. Win a free membership for the 2018 season, but must be in attendance to claim the prize. Tuesday 21st November: Annual General Meeting.


NINETEEN players ventured to Cohuna Golf Club on Sunday for the end of the season trip where Jake Wright and Steven Bubb combined well to win first prize with a solid score of 44 stableford points.

They won from the popular David Marshall and Al James and James Walsh and Trevor English (42).

Marshall also combined with Darren White for next best on 41.

Walsh, White, Bubb and Peter Anderson were nearest the pin winners, Paul Evans won the snake award for his two-metre effort on slippery 12 green and once again Marshall got in the act to take the honours for the prestiges VB Trophy, easily accounting for Evans eight and four.

Thanks go to the Cohuna Golf Club for its hospitality and generous support in making this day so enjoyable.

Thanks also to Darren White (bus driver) and the members who contributed over the season.

Wednesday golf will continue over the next few months, hit-off as usual from 10am, last week’s winner off the front white markers with a great score of one under par and 29 points was Kevin McCormick.

Tim Quinlan (28) was second with Laurie Jackel and Spencer Broom the nearest the pin winners.

The course will remain open over summer with nine holes being regularly maintained, thanks to our volunteers.

A reminder our AGM is on Monday, October 23, it is important all members attend and look at nominating for the various positions to continually advance our club.

More in Sport
Login Sign Up

Dummy text